Homemade Pumpkin Spice Latte

close up

Back in the day, I would count down the hours until a certain seasonal beverage made its appearance at the Starbucks down the street from my first apartment. Fall was synonymous with the ubiquitous Pumpkin Spice Latte. Many, many PSLs were downed while studying and writing articles during my college days, and I mourned the loss of them when the last bottle of pumpkin goop had been drained.

Over the years, my palate has grown up a bit – I can now sip a full-bodied black coffee without flinching. And I actually prefer it! But, as with anything pumpkin, I still look forward to the warm, creamy coziness of a pumpkin spice latte. The 9 months I spent vegan fell right in the middle of PSL season – and as it turns out, that goop has dairy in it. Along with lots of other things. But I was determined to make my own, and as it turns out, I haven’t missed the “original” since. Give this deliciously simple recipe a try – you won’t go back to the ‘bux.

Pumpkin Spice Latte

Ingredients:

  • 1 shot of espresso or 4 oz. of strong coffee
  • 3/4 cup of almond milk (or coconut milk, for a more unique flavor)
  • 3 Tbsp. organic pumpkin puree (or homemade pumpkin butter)
  • 3 drops of stevia
  • A pinch each of cinnamon, ginger, clove, nutmeg and cardamom (or just use 1/8 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice – Trader Joe’s makes a great one)
  • 1/8 tsp. of pure vanilla

Instructions:

  1. Brew your coffee or espresso, the pour into a mixing glass and add pumpkin, spices and vanilla. Use an immersion blender or pour into a blender.
  2. Add stevia to 1 cup of milk and heat in a saucepan. Once simmering, remove and pour into the mixing glass or blender, then stir on high to create frothy foam.
  3. Pour into your favorite mug, dust the top with nutmeg, and enjoy!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

