Try it Tuesday: Be gentle with yourself

Screen Shot 2015-06-09 at 7.55.26 AMTry it Tuesday: write and repeat this reminder.

And yes, use sparkly tape if it helps.

Why not be a little kinder and gentler with yourself today? It’s so easy, so excruciatingly simple, to get caught up in the shoulds. Magnifying mistakes, constant criticism, and general frustration with where we’re at and where we think we ought to be is a surprisingly easy place to get caught. Heck, I’ve been known to roll out the cot and camp out there longer than I’d like to admit.

It’s more comfortable, sometimes, to do that. Somehow it’s easier to be hard on yourself because it starts to feel familiar. And familiarity = safety. The problem, of course, is that it’s a ridiculously false sense of security. Nothing is true about it at all. Heck, most of the negative things we think about ourselves are based on a total fabrication. And that’s when we have to strike and reverse it. Smooth out the rough edges with softness.

And honestly, sometimes I still give myself a hard time for being all “woo woo” about the self love. But then I remember – being hard on myself didn’t get me anywhere but miserable. So I’m making the conscious effort to try this on for myself today. Join me?

This entry was posted in Self Lovin, Try It Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

