Wednesday Wisdom 10.7.15

432b073c23e3304e9a25db86bca1fcf8

Thanks to an awesome friend’s new venture, Beyond Abundant, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about fear and limiting beliefs. And I’ve been investigating a particular aspect of perfectionism that has kept me stuck far too many times.

It’s the belief that if I can’t do something right the first time, I shouldn’t do it at all. And I’m told that this limiting belief has haunted me since before I can remember: as my mom tells it, “you always thought you should know how to do something before you could have possibly learned it.” Literally – walking before you can crawl, running before you can walk – and we all know that’s a great way to fall on your ass.

The fear of failure – not the failure itself – is what keeps us stuck. 

I don’t want to miss out on any more amazing opportunities, any doors that could open wide, out of the fear that I might not do it just right the first time. Or, you know, ever.

So here’s a reframed albeit totally unoriginal concept: what if I welcome the lesson? What if I go into it, whatever it is, with only the expectation of an experience. Because whether I succeed or fail, it’s better than doing nothing. It releases the control. Sometimes you win, sometimes you learn. 

Full disclosure? This particular quote is from an old favorite band, Hanson, who I am definitely seeing live tonight. (And tomorrow night, but who’s counting.) Wise words are wise words. Thanks, guys.

{Print credit to The Simple Perks}

This entry was posted in Wednesday Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

